.: Ski XCOttawa.ca :: Skiing in Ottawa and Gatineau Park

Gatineau Loppet 53km Skate Update: Important Notice for A Wave Skiers-Racing Licenses Required.
By:  Karl Saidla   (2010/02/11)


The Gatineau Loppet would like to announce  that for the first time in several years, the first wave of the 53km skate event will be sanctioned by Cross Country Canada and results will be eligible for the Canada Points List.

These changes have been implemented with both the short and long term goals of attracting more of Canada and the world's top marathon distance racers to the Gatineau Loppet.

IMPORTANT: For ALL skiers who are seeded in the A Wave, one of the following types of racing licenses will be required. Please note that if you are in the A Wave and are not already the holder of a racing license, you will be issued a day license free of charge.

FIS License

License issued by a national federation (e.g. international competitors)

Cross Country Canada (CCC) Racing License

Cross Country Canada Supporting Member License (day license)

You will be required to provide proof that you hold one of these licenses when you pick up your race kit. This means that if you expect to be seeded in the A wave, should have your FIS, CCC or national federation license # with you at race kit pick up. As mentioned, if you require a day license, you will be issued one, free of charge, at race kit pick up.

NOTE: While not required to ski in the A Wave, in order to be eligible for Canada Points, you must provide your CCC Racing license # at race kit pick up. If you have any questions concerning these items please contact the Gatineau Loppet at: info@gatineauloppet.com.

The Gatineau Loppet has a rich history of bringing some of the very best distance racers from Canada and the world to the Gatineau area. This is a tradition that the Gatineau Loppet would like to see continue! Some famous past winners among the men include Pauli Siitonen, Orjan Blomqvist, Stanislav Rezac, and Pierre Harvey. Although he never won, Bill Koch was another well known skier who has raced the Gatineau Loppet. Women winners include national team members such as Dasha Gaiazova, Marie-Andree Masson, Angela Schmidt-Foster, and Jane Vincent and international competitors such as Muffy Ritz, Maria Theurl and Gudrun Pfluger.

Interesting Reading. . .
Interested in supporting XC Ottawa or advertising on our site? Email: info@xcottawa.ca.
© Copyright 2001-2006, www.xcottawa.ca. All Rights Reserved. Contact us before re-publishing anything seen here.