.: Ski XCOttawa.ca :: Skiing in Ottawa and Gatineau Park

Beckie Scott to be inducted into the Canadian Ski Hall of Fame
By:  Canadian Ski Museum   (2011/05/30)


Ottawa, 27 May 2011 -- Three great Canadians, Beckie Scott, Laurie Kreiner and Mark Labow, have been named to the Canadian Ski Hall of Fame.

Beckie Scott, of Canmore Alberta, is Canada’s most successful nordic skier, and one of the world’s best all- round cross country skiers. During her 11-year career on the Canadian Cross Country National Ski Team, she won 17 World Cup medals, a gold medal in the 10 km pursuit at the 2002 Olympics in Salt Lake City, and a silver in the 2006 Olympics in Torino in the team sprint with her teammate, Sara Renner. In addition to her outstanding competitive record, Beckie has been a leader in international sport, where her achievements include spearheading efforts to establish an independent drug-testing agency that become the World Anti- doping Agency (WADA). Recognition of Beckie’s major contributions to Canadian and international sport, is reflected in her numerous honours and awards, including the John Semmelink Memorial Award, the Governor General’s Award for meritorious service, and membership in the Canadian and Alberta Sports Hall of Fame.

Laurie Kreiner, of South Porcupine, Ontario, named to the Canadian Alpine Ski Team at age 14, went on to establish an outstanding Canadian and international competitive record, including impressive results in Olympic and World Cup competition. In the 35 years since retiring from competition, Laurie has continued to make major contributions to skiing in Canada and internationally. She has been a ski resort director, owner and operator, coach, instructor, advisor, ambassador, and volunteer. In these diverse roles she is widely recognized for her contributions as leader, team player, motivator, and as a compassionate person with impressive will and ability to help those in need.

Mark Labow, of St-Sauveur-des-Monts, has been a driving force in the development and success of the Canadian Ski Patrol System (CSPS) and the Fédération Internationale des Patrouilles de Ski (FIPS). During his 63 years with the CSPS, Mark has held many leadership positions, including National President from 1969 to 1975, and (founding) president of FIPS from 1975 to 2003. Mark was also instrumental in the establishment of the Canadian Ski Council which represents most of Canada's major ski organizations. Mark's outstanding volunteer contributions have been recognized through the numerous awards within the CFPS, as well as the Queen's Silver Jubilee medal (1977), membership in the Laurentian Ski Hall of Fame, and honorary membership in the ski patrol systems of the United States, Australia and France.

The Canadian Ski Hall of Fame, part of the Canadian ski Museum, honours persons who have made distinguished and substantial contributions to the growth and development of the sport of snow skiing and snowboarding in Canada. The three new inductees will join some 150 other competitors, officials, coaches, trainers, instructors, and builders of the ski sport and industry who have been so honoured.

The Canadian Ski Museum’s current plans are to hold an induction ceremony in the fall of 2011. The date and location of the ceremony will be announced later.

Contact: Arnold Midgley
Tel: 613-745-0958- e-mail: arnoldm@sympatico.ca

The Canadian Ski Museum / Le Musée canadien du ski
1960 Scott Street (In the 'Trailhead' bldg)
Exhibit: Temporarily Closed • Office: Suite 301
Ottawa, ON • K1Z 8L8
Phone: (613)722-3584 • Fax:(613)722-2914

*** Become a Member of the Museum today ***

Interesting Reading. . .
Interested in supporting XC Ottawa or advertising on our site? Email: info@xcottawa.ca.
© Copyright 2001-2006, www.xcottawa.ca. All Rights Reserved. Contact us before re-publishing anything seen here.